My Long Walk to Freedom (and Still Walking)

Africa far and wide

I didn’t realize how much the Apartheid experience had kept me in its clutches until I lived in Mozambique for a number of years. I was 10 years old when they released Mandela. I am now in my mid-thirties. And still to this day, I battle on with the deeply instilled and powerful influence of the apartheid regime.

August 2010 342

Apartheid was not just about black vs. white. The apartheid fundamentalists had a deep understanding that a united nation is a powerful one, but a divided one is weak in the way of bringing change and of challenging a system. For apartheid to be successful, the people needed to be segregated.

I needed to fear, distrust or dislike anyone different to me. I needed to feel superior or inferior. I needed to stick to my own.

But it wasn’t like that to start with. It never is. We all start off with…

View original post 987 more words

Leave a Reply

